Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2024-25 in the UK | Fully Funded

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for the academic year 2024-25 present an excellent opportunity for students to pursue higher education in the UK at no cost. This fully-funded scholarship is specifically aimed at exceptionally talented and promising individuals from underdeveloped and lower-income Commonwealth countries who might not otherwise have the means to study in the UK.

The goal is to promote equity, inclusion, and accessibility for students facing economic challenges.

Administered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC), an independent body sponsored by the Foreign, Commonwealth, and Development Office, these scholarships align with the UK government’s commitment to development within the Commonwealth Nations.

The CSC manages various international scholarship programs to attract bright minds to UK universities, fostering global development and supporting the UK’s national interests.

This scholarship is not just about financial support; it serves as a stepping stone for candidates to enter a world of opportunities and successful careers. Recipients become part of a larger community, interacting with current and former Commonwealth fellows through alumni networks.

These networks provide a platform for sharing ideas, discussing research, and collaborating on projects. Knowledge Hubs and Regional Networks facilitate this interaction, creating a pool of learning and cooperation.

The Commonwealth Scholarships focus on six main themes to contribute to sustainable development and the social well-being of participating nations. In addition to academic success, the well-being of scholarship recipients is a priority.

The UK Council for International Student Affairs (UKCISA) offers support to help students adjust to their new environment, preventing cultural shock. Assistance is available in various areas, including social, emergency, LGBTQ1, and general support.

Details of Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2024 in the UK

  • Host Country:
    • United Kingdom
  • Host Universities:
    • Candidates are required to select a University in the United Kingdom before applying.
  • Degree Level:
    • Master’s Degree Program

Rewards of Commonwealth Shared Master’s Scholarships 2023 in the UK

  • The CSC grant covers the full tuition fee.
  • A return airfare ticket is provided.
  • A monthly stipend of £1,347 is granted.
  • Students studying in London Metropolitan area universities receive a monthly stipend of £1,652.
  • A warm clothing allowance is included.
  • Thesis costs, if applicable, are covered (Funded by CSC).
  • A travel grant for study-related costs, both in the UK and overseas, is provided.
  • Reimbursement for the mandatory TB test is included.
  • Visa fees are reimbursed.
  • Single parents, widowed, or divorced individuals receive a first child allowance of £576.61 per month, and an additional £143 per month for a second or third child under the age of 16.
  • Disabled individuals receive a special disability grant after a comprehensive examination and assessment.

Selection Criteria of Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2024-25:

  • Citizenship: The candidate must be a citizen of an eligible Commonwealth country or have refugee status granted by a Commonwealth country.
  • Eligibility: Individuals listed as British Protected Persons can apply.
  • Residency: The candidate must be a permanent resident of a Commonwealth country.
  • Academic Qualifications: A first-class honours degree or an upper second-class or lower second-class grade is required. A relevant postgraduate qualification, typically a master’s degree, is also necessary.
  • Start Date: The candidate should be available to commence studies in the UK from September 2024.
  • Previous UK Experience: The candidate must not have studied or worked in the UK or any other high-income country for one academic year.
  • Commonwealth Grant Dependency: The candidate should be unable to pursue studies at a UK university without a Commonwealth grant.

Selected Countries for CSC Scholarship 2024-25:

  • BangladeshEzoic
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Dominica
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • The Gambia
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

Procedure to apply for Commonwealth Shared Scholarship 2024?

The candidates have to apply online for the Commonwealth Scholarship on the CW Shared Portal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *